DU Academic Programs

DU is the first private university in the Sultanate modeled after the American system of higher education. It offers two-year diploma and four-year bachelor degrees that follow the credit hour system and uses English as the medium of instruction. DU grants a diploma to those who complete the first two years of study for most majors with a cumulative average of 65 percent or above. Students qualify for a Bachelor Degree at the end of the fourth academic year if they meet the graduation requirements in their major.


The university also offers a Centre for Preparatory Studies (CPS) for students who are not sufficiently prepared to join the university programs. Applicants who do not meet the admission requirements for the regular academic programs are required to sit for placement tests in English, mathematics, and information technology in order to determine if they need to join the CPS.

There are currently three colleges at DU: College of Arts and Applied Sciences (CAAS), College of Commerce and Business Administration (CCBA) and College of Engineering (CE). These colleges offer 25 academic programs in different fields of specialization, representing 17 diploma programs, 20 bachelor degree programs and one master degree program.

In addition, DU has the Continuing Education Center (CEC) that offers a variety of courses and training programs for executives and employees of government agencies and commercial firms and for adult learners in the local community.